The American Public Transportation Association (APTA) is honoring Senator Patty Murray as one of its 2023 Advocacy Champions.Sen. Patty Murray

The award was presented to Murray, chair of the Senate Appropriations Committee, during APTA’s Legislative Conference in Washington, DC. The awards recognize Members of Congress who have led efforts to increase investment in our nation’s public transit, passenger rail and multimodal infrastructure and strongly support public transportation.

This year’s recipients were instrumental in enacting the 2022 and 2023 Transportation, Housing and Urban Development (THUD) Appropriations Acts, Bipartisan Infrastructure Law, and COVID-19 emergency relief funding.

Along with Sen. Murray, APTA presented the Advocacy Champion Award to:

  • Senator Susan M. Collins (R-ME), Vice Chair, Committee on Appropriations, U.S. Senate;
  • Senator Tammy Duckworth (D-IL), former Ranking Member, Subcommittee on Transportation and Safety, Committee on Commerce, Science, and Transportation, U.S. Senate;
  • Representative Mario Diaz-Balart (R-FL), former Chair and Ranking Member, Subcommittee on Transportation, Housing and Urban Development, and Related Agencies, Committee on Appropriations, U.S. House of Representatives; and,
  • Delegate Eleanor Holmes Norton (D-DC), Ranking Member and former Chair, Subcommittee on Highways and Transit, Committee on Transportation and Infrastructure, U.S. House of Representatives.

“Investment in public transportation remains critical for America’s future strength and prosperity, and we applaud this year’s Advocacy Champions for their extraordinary commitment to infrastructure improvements for passenger connectivity around the country,” said APTA President and CEO Paul P. Skoutelas.